Homemade Chicken and Noodles

Our family loves noodles.  Long ones, short ones, fat, skinny, shaped, rolled, star…well, you get the point.  I choose to make noodles for my family.  They love them, I love them, they are easy to fix and there are never, ever, left overs.  Even when I make three batches for seven people.  Noodles (hence where she got her name from) can’t wait for supper tonight, because Mommy let it slip to Daddy this morning that she was making Soup.  For Noodles, that means just one thing, Mommy is making Homemade Chicken and Noodles.  Her favorite.  She’s already asked if she could have it for breakfast.  And lunch.  And supper.  I’ve told her she has to wait for supper, then she could have all she wanted.  I’m sure that will mean she ends up eating three bowls of it too.  The fact that I made homemade broth to go with it is just a bonus.  The house already smells fantastic!  I’m ready for supper too 😉

Homemade Chicken and Noodles

  • Chicken
  • 1 whole chicken (mine is frozen when I start)
  • Seasoning (I use oregano, basil, rosemary, and garlic)

Heat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.  Remove chicken from wrapper.  Place in an ungreased baking dish with sides.  (I use a glass dish.)  Fill with water 1/4 of an inch.  Now if I’m going to be really busy, I go ahead and cover the chicken with the seasoning by pouring a little bit of water over it and then sprinkling it with seasoning until its completely covered.  If I know that I’ll be in the kitchen in an hour, then I let it bake for an hour then add the seasoning.  Just depends on what is going on in the house and both turn out yummy.  I bake my chicken 3-4 hours depending on how big a chicken I have.  Most times, it takes about 3 1/2 hours for a 4 pound bird.  Always check by cutting into the thigh and the breast before declaring it done.  Any pink in the juices, back in the oven it goes.  When chicken is done, pick that sucker clean, saving the bones as you go.  (Go ahead and throw them in a pot that is deep so that you are ready to make the broth.)  This is the most time consuming part, so have some music on to sing along to, or the chicken dance…just saying!

Broth(I learned about making broth from Katie Kimball over at http://www.kitchenstewardship.com .  Any changes to her recipe are mine and mine alone.)

  • Saved chicken bones and parts (I threw the liver and gizzards in with the bones this time)
  • 1 large onion
  • carrots (I throw in a handful of baby carrots)
  • celery if you have it (Last night I didn’t, so I used some cabbage)
  • few tablespoons of vinegar
  • water to cover the whole mess

I usually cook my chicken the night before I want to make soup.  This gives me a chance to make broth and I get two meals out of my chicken.  I use my very large stock pot for my broth and throw the bones in as I shred the chicken.  I add my veggies and cover with water until the pot is 2/3 full.  Add the vinegar and let it sit for about an hour.  (Set a timer if you have to or go play a few rounds of Mario Kart with the kids.)  Set the burner on low and cover.  I cook mine overnight.  That way the stove is on and I know we will be home.  The longer you let it cook, the better it becomes.  I usually let mine cook for about 12 hours.  Remove from heat source and let cool.  (This is important for me as I’m short and get splashed easily.)  I use paper towel and strain the cooled broth.  This takes some time and gravity.  You could use cheese cloth, but you won’t find it in my house.  Or just pour it through the strainer and have some cloudy broth.  It all works.  Let it chill in the fridge until you’re ready to make supper.  Add the shredded chicken and bring to a boil.  Now you’re ready for some noodles.

Noodles(Recipe comes from Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book 1981 – the newer the better right?)

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 T. milk

In a mixing bowl, combine egg, milk, and salt.  Stir in enough of the flour to make a stiff dough.  Cover and let rest 10 minutes  (I usually use the 10 minutes to divert children from the kitchen with apples or bananas as they want NOODLES.)  On a floured surface, roll dough into a 16×12 in rectangle.  Let stand 20 minutes.  (You know that Mario Kart game you left in the middle of, go finish it.)  Roll up loosely, cut into 1/4 – inch- thick slices.  Unroll and cut into desired lengths.  Spread out and let dry for 2 hours.  Store in an air tight container until ready to use.  Drop noodles into a large amount of boiling salt water or soup.  Cook, uncovered, 5-10 minutes or until done.  When mine start to float, I know that they are about done.

Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t have two hours in my day to wait for noodles to dry.  I just let ’em sit until the broth starts to boil and add them into the pot in very small batches to prevent clumping.  Since there are never left overs, I don’t think not letting them dry all the way is an issue with my family.  I have found that one batch of noodles is not enough and make three batches to feed my family of seven.  The thinner you roll the noodles, the more noodles you will have.  If you like a more dumpling like noodle, make them thicker.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

