But…I’m…(yawn)…not…tired…Mommy…

noodlessleeping

Yes, you are Noodles.  Yes, you are.

It has been a crazy, busy week this week.  I don’t know about you, but once the girls have gone to sleep, Mommy has been out like nothing else.  We’ve had lots of funny moments this week, but nothing that just stands out as a full story.  So here are some snippets.

*Noodles is cuddled up beside me on one side and Pickles on the other.  Pickles informs us, “I’m the boss. You stop it.  My mommy.”  Noodles reply, “But Mommy, you said I was the boss.”  My reply, “Nope.  I’m the boss.”  Noodles shakes her head.  Pickles looks at me, grins, and says, “No, you’re not.  You’re the Mommy.”

*We often joke, and I do mean joke, about eating the cat.  We would never eat the cat.  Our cat is the best cat of them all.  She’s our Floppy Cat.  But when I turn on the oven, the kids automatically ask, “We having baked cat tonight?”  So tonight, Noodles found a toy oven in the girls bedroom.  She also found a tiny PLASTIC toy cat.  She put the cat in the toy oven, brought it to me, and says, “Look Mommy!  I made supper!”

*Last night, I hear this horrible, terrible crash in the kitchen.  I go running in thinking Pickles has tried to take the milk out of the fridge again.  Nope.  She’s found the last of the cans that wouldn’t fit in the cabinet and is playing blocks.  She had stacked them as tall as she could and hit them to make them fall over.  Thanks Pickles! Mommy needed that heart attack!

*The girls and I love marshmallows.  We sneak them every chance we get.  But only six at a time.  I don’t know why six.  Maybe because that’s how many can fit in two hands that are that small.  Might be.  So one night this week, I’m fixing supper.  Pickles comes in and asks for “Memellows”.  I correct here by saying “Marshmallows”.  She informs me, “No.  Memellows.  They’re for ME!”  What do I know???  I’m just the Mommy.

We had the most awesome pizza tonight.  I’m a big fan of homemade pizza.  Not the kind where the crust is in a can or a box.  But the kind where you have to get flour up to your elbows and use some muscle to make it.  The kind that makes kids think we’ve gone out to eat.  Yeah, that kind.  Want the recipe?  I figured as much.

  • Crust – adapted from http://www.pizzarecipes101.com/papa-johns-pizza-recipe.htm
  • 2 1/2-3 cups of flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoon fast rising yeast (or 1 envelope, for a fast rise)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup very warm water (120-130 degrees)
  • 2 tablespoons oilIn a large bowl, combine 1 cup of flour, sugar, undissolved yeast, and salt; blend well
    Gradually add water and oil to mixture.  Blend at low speed until moistened, then beat for 2 minutes at medium speed.  (Here’s where mine differs.  I blend all of it by hand.  I mix it for almost 3 minutes and try to keep a whipping motion going.)  By hand, add 1 1/2 to 2 cups flour until dough pulls away from sides of the bowl.
    On floured surface, knead in 1/4 to 1/2 cup of flour until dough is smooth and elastic.  (Think play dough.)  Cover loosely with plastic and let rest in a warm place for about 15 minutes. (I cover mine with a cloth napkin.  Cheaper than cheese cloth, not as harmful as plastic to the environment, and totally washable:)  I also let mine sit for almost 40 minutes.)
    Press out dough onto (2) 12 inch pizza pans.  Prick randomly with a fork.  Let rest again in a warm place for 10-15 minutes.  (I always forget to prick my dough, and it bubbles up big time, but it’s still yummy and again, I let it go for about 40 minutes.  I like poofy dough.)Brush crusts lightly with oil then pre-bake them in a 450 F degree oven for about 5 minutes. (Oops, I always forget this one.  I’m too hungry by this time to think about it.)  Top as desired, then bake again in 450 F degree for 4-5 minutes, or until desired amount.  (Since I forget the first pre-bake step, I cook mine for 13-15 minutes depending on the amount of toppings.  I also use a square cookie sheet and only get one pizza out of the dough.)
  • Sauce – Yep, I make it too!
    • 1 can tomato paste
    • 1 small can tomato sauce
    • 1 tablespoon of sugar
    • 1 teaspoon of olive oil
    • 1/4 teaspoon of lemon juice
    • blend of Italian seasoning to taste – I use whatever is in my cupboard – oregano, basil, thyme- you don’t need much.  Add a pinch, let it simmer, taste and add more if needed.
    • Sometimes, I will add garlic powder, others I’ll use real garlic.  Just depends on what I have on hand.  Usually I have both.

    Combine in a sauce pan and bring to a slow boil.  This way you don’t splash it all over the stove.  Reduce heat.  Simmer for 15-20 minutes.  You will not use all of it on your pizza.  Whatever is left over, place in a clean ice cube tray, sans ice, and freeze.  Once frozen, place in a freezer bag or container.  I have kept them up to three months with no problems.  After about three months, they are really watery.

Then I add whatever toppings I want after I spread the sauce around.  Mushrooms, black olives, green peppers, onions, tomatoes, pineapple, ham, sausage, bacon, more bacon, even more bacon, maybe a pinch more…ok that’s good.  Did I mention bacon?  Thought so.  Then I add the cheese.  Now, don’t buy the cheese that’s already pre-shredded in the bag.  They add anti-caking junk to it so that you have nice pieces of shredded cheese.  A)You don’t want anti-caking junk on your pizza, B) it’s much cheaper to shred you’re own block of cheese.  I spend about $1.80 or so for a small block of cheese at Aldi’s.  It’s an 8 oz block, so not bad in price.  I have my grandmother’s cheese grater.  Get a bowl, two blocks of your favorite cheese (tonight was mozzarella blended with colby jack cheese), and the grater.  Sit and watch 10 minutes of your favorite tv show, talk with the kids, listen to some music, something that does not require hands for 10 minutes.  Shred your cheese into the bowl.  Mix it up and spread it on your pizza.  It will be plenty cheesy.  But if you really like cheesy, go for three, why not.

So there you have it.  Some snippets from this week.  A great pizza recipe.  What more could you ask for?  A picture of the pizza?  Well, why didn’t you say so…

pizza

Did I mention that it was REALLY good?  Yeah, they didn’t wait for me to take the picture.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Children, Food, Healthy eating, Noodles, Pickles, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to But…I’m…(yawn)…not…tired…Mommy…

Leave a Reply

